Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award Ceremony and Lecture

November 6, 2017 - 4:30 PM to 5:30 PM
Kahn Auditorium
Biomedical Science Research Building
Man writing

The Biomedical Research Council (BMRC) is pleased to announce that the winner of this year's Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research is Peter Arvan, M.D., Ph.D., Division Chief, Metabolism, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Professor of Internal Medicine, William K. & Delores S. Brehm Professor of Diabetes Research, Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology, University of Michigan Medical School. 

The award ceremony will include opening remarks by U-M Medical School Dean Marschall S. Runge, M.D., Ph.D., the award presentation by Carey Lumeng, M.D., Ph.D., and Dr. Arvan’s lecture on "Protein Folding Disease of the Endoplasmic Reticulum." A reception will immediately follow the lecture in the Biomedical Science Research Building Atrium.

This award is the highest honor bestowed upon a faculty member for research in the biomedical sciences by the Medical School. Dr. Arvan is being recognized for his cutting edge discoveries in the mechanisms of secretory protein trafficking, endoplasmic reticulum (ER) quality control and ER stress-mediated cell death; his research has had a direct clinical impact on diabetes and hypothyroidism. The award also reflects his outstanding work in mentorship and leadership while at the U-M Medical School. Over his 14 years as Chief of MEND, the division has become one of the preeminent endocrinology programs in the world.

No reservation is required. All are welcome!