Medical School Human Data & Biospecimen Release Committee

When individual-level patient/participant data or biospecimens are to be transferred, per policy the transfer is subject to review and approval by the Medical School Human Data & Biospecimen Release Committee and the Dean of the Medical School prior to requesting that the appropriate central unit(s) negotiate an agreement. The committee consists of:

  • Steve Kunkel, Ph.D., Interim Executive Vice Dean for Research, Interim Chief Scientific Officer, co-chair
  • Ray Hutchinson, M.D., Associate Dean for Regulatory Affairs, co-chair
  • Sachin Kheterpal, M.D., M.B.A., Associate Dean for Research IT
  • Teri Grieb, Ph.D., Senior Director for Research & Chief of Staff
  • Judy Birk, J.D., Director for IRBMed
  • Vici Blanc, Ph.D., Director, Central Biorepository
  • Tiana Korley, J.D., Associate General Counsel
  • Kelly Sexton, Ph.D., Associate VPR – Technology Transfer and Innovation Partnerships
  • Craig Reynolds, Executive Director of Research & Sponsored Projects
  • Kayte Spector-Bagdady, J.D., MBioethics, Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Sheryl Flanagan, Ph.D., Data Protections Coordinator, Data Office for Clinical & Translational Research
  • Faculty at-large
  • Staffed by Data Office: Erin Kaleba, M.P.H., Director for the Data Office for Clinical & Translational Research

Consultants to Committee:

  • Drew Bennett, M.B.A., Associate Director Software Licensing, Technology Transfer
  • Patrick Wood, J.D., Assistant Managing Project Representative, Office of Research & Sponsored Projects
  • Mike Ranella, M.B.A., M.P.H., Business Development Associate Director, Fast Forward Medical Innovation 



Contact us or call (734) 615-2100 

North Campus Research Complex, Building 400, 1600 Huron Parkway, Ann Arbor, MI 48105

A list of Data Office contacts is available in the Personnel Directory